To Whale or not to Whale, is it even a Question?

Oh my god people, it seems madness has struck the Paradise Islands of Tonga. This is not a test, Tongan parliament are seriously looking at bringing whaling back to Tonga.:-( I can’t believe it how stupid is that? Taki and I have been over on the main Island y to see what we can do to stop this crazy thing from happening.

It all started with some idiot noble in the Tonga island group of Vava’u who thought it would be a good idea, dah. Tonga is a kingdom with a King and nobles and the rest of us chiefs, town officers, village speaks, peasants , you get the picture a ranking system of who is important and who is not.

Luckily my family is well respected in Tonga, so I can speak to some of these so called important people. So that’s what I’ve been doing, but these guys are hard nuts with dollar signs in their eyes.

this is some of the crap they believe and have been telling the people,

1. Whales are eating all our fish supplies.

2. We never had diabetes, until we stopped eating whale meat.

3. Whale watching only brought in one million dollars to Tonga last year and whale meat is worth $7 a pound so we can make more money killing the whales.

4.We only need to kill 12 whales a year.

I could continue, but as you can see this is just nonsensical crap. Might as well just blame global warming on the whale to, that’s a point since we stopped whaling there has been more whales and of course whales way a lot therefore we can explain the rising of sea levels, IT’S THE WHALES FAULT.

Anyway so I have kept this short as I really busy with this stuff at the moment, but you can help there are a few petitions on the Internet you could sign, here is a link to one. Petition link

http://www.whalesrevenge.com/

If you have time there are a few more if you  look, sign them all. At the moment these guys only know about the humpback whales in our waters, I can’t imagine what will happen if they discover the other 22 species we have off the back of ‘Eua.

Please leave a comment, and if you have any ideas to help please let me  know.

8 Comments

  1. ok I signed….

  2. I knew I could count on you nursy poo

  3. I signed. I hope the petition and your influence works.

  4. Fevah! I wanted to thank you for all your comments on my page, and all the great info on your page! It’s been great to hear about Shamanism in your world-it’s left a lasting impression. I’m glad you’ve brough to light this whaling issue as well!

  5. Hey Fevah, I like it that you took action against something you feel is wrong.
    Says great things about your character.

  6. Karyncrisis : Good to hear from you. Good luck with the new album girl. You really have talent.

    Kitty: Thanks Kitty I’m doing all I can. The whales here are my friends and our bonds are deeper than I can put into words, There importance in our old culture is, well huge. The old culture here is nearly all gone replaced by the new christian culture of another world. Not saying it’s a bad thing just that there is a few of us who would like to see the real Tongan way restored and the new Tongan way to be referred to just as that “new “. See the problem here is all these new ideas that started only 150 or so years ago are now being considered as the Tongan way eg: everyone goes to church on Sunday and I mean everyone bar me and and handful of others, about ten in all out of 5000 on the Island . If you don’t go to Church on Sunday it is considered that you aren’t hold true to the Tongan way . Anyway I digress, I think all this stuff has got me wound up and upset at my people, who of course are me and my life depends on them, and they on me, they are my family all of them so it makes things hard. See digressing again.
    Ofa Atu

  7. I understand a little bit about a culture being “lost.” My mother was born in a part of America that still spoke French. She didn’t speak English until she went to school. She was beaten if she didn’t learn the new language. In only two generations the language is practically gone from her area.
    So what she was born into in the 1940’s is a culture that is gone. Like a whole different country.
    Having a religion forced upon a culture is absurd.
    You are brave to stand up to them to preserve your heritage.
    It is good that you have found the tools you need to raise awareness, so keep writing.

  8. Hey feva, I stumbled on your blog after researching a Samoan myth about the rat and octopus to tell a friend … anyway a mate of mine in sydney called Jamie at http://www.circul8.com.au designed a beautiful campaign for greenpeace to stop Japanese whaling- I’ll see if I can find a link … try this http://www.send-a-whale.com it was in the newspapers and very popular and cute- I can imagine a pacific island version with woven whales using old ways- craft at schools or something, get some cool nuns involved in a little message from school kids to the chiefs- while they’re (Japan) making big bucks it’s hard to deny the ignorant “idiot noble in the Tonga island group of Vava’u” for trying… maybe iceland who whales for cultural purposes have some cause, but when it’s dollars not knowledge that’s driving it, that’s just so sad and totally unjustified. But on the brighter side alot of people are fighting with you, maybe contact greenpeace and see if they can offer some support. I really like what you’re doing on this blog- more power to ya! Keep it going…
    Cara


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

