The Fevah Blog.

Hello and welcome to Fevah.

This is my first post and my first blog. This comes to you from the tiny South pacific Island of ‘Eua part of the Tonga group of Island where we decorate our burial mounds with beer bottles and swim fully clothed  because some old fart missionary back in the 1800 convinced our elders and king that bear skin was a sin. Think that’s bad we actually think it’s our culture, we call  all these  strict western church ideas are own now.

Yep we have some strange ways here alright, but know we have the internet on the Island I’ve come to realize we’re not the only  crazy  buggers out there. No offense intended but you guys really go to work for hours everyday to get paper that you then go and spend on food and houses and cars. We don’t go to work. Where I live  land is free and we have plantations for food that we take turns working on that probably adds up to about 8 hours work ever month.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not trying to put the anyone down like I say we are pretty weird here on the Island. I know this because I’m one of the few people In my village who has been overseas and I talk to tourist that come and stay on the Island.

So anyway I’m just thinking  it might make for some interesting discussions. If nothing else we will get to laugh at each others ways and cultures  right?

Feel free to post a comment, ask a question, or tell me about something you find crazy from where ever you live.

11 Comments

  1. Hey Fevah

    Like the pix of the Kapa pulu (can of corn beef.) Classic Tonga!
    Speaking of kapa Pulu I’m hungry. LOL

    Ofa atu
    Eyelandgrl

  2. Thanks Eyelandgrl, for the lovely comment about the pix.
    sorry for editing your post but not everyone knows what a Kapa pulu is.

    Ofa atu to you too.

  3. Fevah: Thanks for your comment on my blog earlier. I think I shall give the intended addressee of your comment a chance before I respond🙂

    All the way from Tonga? That is fascinating. Seriously. The web has opened doors to places I may never get to – although it is on my ‘life list’ to go to the South Pacific and to snorkel and to see Easter Island, for instance, before man destroys it all (ironic that my visit will contribute a bit to that destruction too..).

    Will come back. All the best blogging.

    PS: What is Ofa Atu?🙂

  4. Thanks Shefaly. I hope you do come to our part of the world one day. If you do don’t stay on the main Island of Tongatapu to long. They have lost their way in the sea of the western world. Instead travel to some of the outer Islands where things are much happier and life is simple.

    Ofa atu means lots of things really, but in the context above it means Love to you.
    in Tonga we never say goodbye we say Ofa atu.

    I love your blog. It is much needed I feel in the world your from.
    have fun Shefaly
    Ofa atu.

  5. How cool! Is beer free in Tonga??

  6. Beer No. Kava is though.

  7. Weird On The Island?
    Come on you all are amazing out there…
    I hope you keep this blog up, your posts are a wonderful read.
    Anita Marie

  8. Thanks Anita your blogs are great to and yes I’m gonna keep these blogs up.

  9. That big girl in the middle forgot her bra! 🙂

  10. Were you born and raised on Eua?

  11. sky: yes I was.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

